



Carl J. Shapiro Institute for Education and Research



CELEBRATION OF TEACHING AWARD CEREMONY AND RECEPTION

Monday, June 5, 2023 Leventhal Conference Room

Harvard Medical School Awards

Class of 2023 Faculty Teaching Awards

Cynthia N. Kettyle Teaching Award in Psychiatry
Cristinel Coconcea, MD

Stuart T. Hauser, MD, PhD, Mentorship Award in Psychiatry Carl Salzman, MD

Charles McCabe Faculty Prize for Excellence in Teaching Emmanuel Mensah, MD, MBA

S. Robert Stone Award for Excellence in Teaching*
Neal Biddick, MD

2023 Faculty Awards

Exellence in Clinical Instruction Faculty Award Grace Huang, MD (Medicine)

Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award
Alden Landry, MD, MPH (Emergency Medicine)

Exellence in Residency Advising AwardAmy Weinstein, MD, MPH (Medicine)

*Initially presented in September at the Daniel D. Federman Teaching Awards Ceremony Department of Medicine.

CELEBRATION OF TEACHING AWARD WINNERS

Monday, June 5, 2023 Leventhal Conference Room

2023 Center for Education Awards

BIDMC Center for Education Awards

2023 BIDMC Academy Member of the Year AwardJennifer (Jenny) Barsamian, DNP, RN

GME Program Director Excellence AwardJeffrey Weinstein, MD

GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award Nikki DeMelo

GME Program Coordinator Rising Star AwardErin O'Reilly

PCE - Outstanding Faculty Mentor Awards

Ariel Axelbaum - Neurology; Jeffrey Edwards - Pediatrics;
Brian Ferrigno - Medicine; Avina Joshi - OB/GYN;
Olivia Karcis - Medicine; Tess Kim - OB/GYN;
Alan Lee - Psychiatry; Sudipa Mohanty - Medicine;
Brian Persaud - Medicine; Hayley Price - Neurology;
Partha Sinha - Medicine; Timothy Sotman - Radiology,
James Wallace - Surgery

Welcome New BIDMC Academy Members

Bhavna Chopra, MD
Rosemary Farahmand, MD
Martin Kaminski, MD
Audrey Li, MD
Michael Mankbadi, MD
Aditya Mohanty, MD
Lauren O'Loughlin, MD
Hayley Price, MD
Rupinder Sekhon, MD

Swachchhanda Songmen, MD Ruth-Alma Ocran-Turkson, MD

Benjamin Wagner, MD

Jennifer Cutts, MD Timmy Ho, MD Jacob Koshy, MD

Sultan Mahmood, MD Albana Mihali, MD Sarah Ohnigian, MD Riccardo Pinciroli, MD Francesca Rigiroli, MD

Allen Shih, MD

Nika Sulakvelidze, MD Stephanie Vu, MD

Bartholomew White, MD

CELEBRATION OF TEACHING AWARD WINNERS

Monday, June 5, 2023 Leventhal Conference Room

E-poster Session Award Winners

The 2023 e-poster sessions showcased the range of education research and scholarship being carried out at BIDMC and was an opportunity to network with colleagues, exchange ideas, and celebrate award recipients

Best Overall Poster

The OWL Checklist: Validation of a Novel Whiteboard Mini Lecture Instrument
Award presented to Ryan Nelson, MD

Best Educational Research Project

An Attending-directed Intervention to Improve Interprofessional Teaching in the ICU Award presented to Cami Petri, MD

Best Educational Innovation Project

Quality Care Escape Room Award presented to Meredith Schofield, MSN.

Best Clinical Education Research Project

Bedside Teaching Experience in Estimating Central Venous Pressure Using Point-of-Care
Ultrasonography: A Case Study in Medical Education
Award presented to Laura Aguilar Franco, MD

Best Educational Literature Review Project

Anti-Racism Curricula in Undergraduate Medical Education: A Scoping Review
Award presented to Dhanesh Binda, BS

Best Classroom Education Research Project

Responding to Trauma Disclosures on the Wards: A Clinical Skills Teaching Session with a Trauma-Informed Lens Rachel Stoddard, BS

Best Educational Simulation Project

Simulated Delivery, Real Awareness: a Novel, Interprofessional Labor and Delivery
Simulation for Pre-Clinical Medical Students
Award presented to Salvatore Daddario, BA

CELEBRATION OF TEACHING AWARD WINNERS

The Shapiro Institute for Education and Research is pleased to announce the

2023-24 Rabkin Fellows

Katherine Bragg, MD

Department of Dermatology Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Brittany Charlton, ScD

Department of Population Medicine Harvard Medical School

Brooke Lubinski, MD

Department of Medicine Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Vilas Patwardhan, MD

Department of Medicine Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Aiden Sharkey, MD

Department of Anesthesia Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Ged Wieschhoff, MD

Department of Radiology Brigham and Women's Hospital